Review:Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Hagane no Renkinjutsushi 2009

Alex: Since I was gonna work on reviewing my favorite anime, this one comes next~

I’ll start this review of by saying this: I HATE Shounen Anime. I just can’t stand them, for some reason. So when I went into Full Metal Alchemist, mostly just to see why everyone was raving so I can say “this is crap stop raving”, I was blown away.

Firstly; the story. Starting off very simple in premise, it takes full advantage of its 64 episode runtime to slowly grow and expand the tale. Some people do say that the pacing is off, but i’d disagree; having never watched the first FMA and never having read the manga, the pacing feels perfect to me. What this leaves you with is an astounding tale revolving around eternal life.

The cast from FMA:B is huge. Completely huge. Yet at the end of it, everyone character feels like an irreplaceable member of the tale. That’s good character development on a whole other scale to well, anything. Not many anime take the time out of their schedule to develop the lesser characters. Yet this doesn’t affect the story in any way. Infact, it helps it run better. If you think of it as instead of having the two lead characters carry the story, you’ve got everyone carrying it, you might understand what i’m trying to get at here.

The animation from Bones is typical of Bones, to be honest. It’s Bones throwing its huge budget at something and making it look utterly gorgeous and stunning . The characters look alive, the backgrounds are astounding, the effects are perfect and the fight scenes are everything you’d hope for and more. And every character looks different, which is often the downfall of several modern anime.

It’s almost one of the best adventure stories ever written.
It’s a solid recommendation if your looking for some epic adventure, or just an epic anime. Don’t make the mistake I did and see the Shounen tag and look away, because it’s so very different to every other Shounen. It actually makes you feel like it knows where it’s going, and it’s going down a road called Brilliance every step of the way.

    

Mimi’s Score: 10 Meeps out of 10 (Masterpiece)

    

3 thoughts on “Review:Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

  1. I confess that I’m not very keen on shounen anime either. A lot of the shounen anime I know are either way too long, too cheesy, too strange, and are just cluttered with stuff to remember, and I don’t think I could handle something like that.

  2. Yeah, I’m more of a shoujo/jousei/shounen ai fan, but FMAB is simply… STUNNING for a lack of a better word. And this comes from someone who has seen the first series AND has read the manga. It’s just… I care for so many people in this series you won’t believe it, and it manages to tug so hard on your heartstrings without ever going cheesy. That’s not easily accomplished.

  3. Yes, I agree. FMA is an amazing tale. It doesnt have the themes of a normal shounen anime- which, for me, gets tiring already for being so repetitive. It focuses on family, the importance of life, realizing that we have our limits as humans but we can do a lot of better things even as humans and most of all, the lesson of equivalent exchange. Hiromu-sensei is amazing. This show is amazing :3

Leave a Reply

