First Impressions: Ao no Exorcist

Ao no Exorcist

Mimi: I tend to be very very very picky with shounen anime, but Ao No Exorcist looks like something that I might enjoy, considering that it’s dark. To be honest, there’s nothing about the premise that hasn’t been done before—you’ve got the demon world and the human world, and the demons are starting to cross over and possess humans. The main protagonist, Rin, suddenly discovers his ‘powers’ at age 15, but the interesting part is that he’s the son of Satan, and he is being raised by one of the most powerful Exorcists ever. I can see this turning into an interesting conflict, despite the clichés (like Father Fujimoto, for example). What’s more is that the music, animation, and character designs are truly excellent. There’s a good chance that I will blog this one, as it seems to be more up my alley than Nurarihyon no Mago anyways.

3 thoughts on “First Impressions: Ao no Exorcist

  1. Haha, I just watched this yesterday and the episode was a great start imo… it was hilarious how he tried to take on as much as he could at work, only to find himself getting in a huge mess. His character is not unique per se, although you would expect the child of Satan to be evil or dark but he still has some child-like qualities (innocent, careless, clumsy, silly, etc) and a good sene of justice. Should be interesting to see how this plays out.

    He certainly doesn’t seem like a tough guy but sometimes he can look like one when he’s in “fight” mode. Also, the part where the priest owned the demon was awesome. He reminds me of a character in Hellsing though.. so far, I also think it is interesting how it uses religion as a plot device. Seems more legit than say Index, where religion is just there for symbolism or something… and it makes no sense.

    Guess we’ll see how this plays out!

    • Hey there! x3

      Hehe I agree. This isn’t a bad start, and I think it’ll grow on me. Lol the priest dude (Father Fujimoto) reminds me of at least 3 or 4 other characters who..are just like him.

      Anyway, glad to see you have time to watch anime coming out this season. =D Needz to talk to you later to see what else you’re picking up. Or just stalk your MAL. Mwahahaha.

      • Ha! There are others? xD Guess I shouldn’t be surprised. They make the Fathers kewl…

        Yeah, it is a bit overwhelming to keep up with though! I’m watching like 4 new anime, along with the other ongoing anime that I am seeing! Then I still need to finish Hajime No Ippo and Rainbow >_< This craziness is unusual for me… I usually stick to one anime.

        NOOO! I'll stalk you first! And continue reading your nice blog posts 😉

Leave a Reply

