First Impressions: Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou

Daily Lives of High School Boys

Alex: A gag anime from Square Enix and Sunrise? What the hell.

And that’s not the worst of it. Get this. IT’S ACTUALLY FUNNY. I’d already chuckled twice by the time the OP ran. Before I started watching it, I was expecting a male slice of life, similar to Kimi to Boku.By the time i’d finished watching it, I was looking forward to next week’s episode.

I’m slightly worried that the idea of having a scenes which only last a few minutes in each episode will mean that it’s going to run out of ideas quickly. But i’ll enjoy it way too much until that happens.

Kie: I’ve never laughed so much at one episode. After just this first episode it’s got to be one of the funniest anime I’ve watched, if not the funniest. The comedy sketches remind me of Squid Girl & Seitokai Yakuindomo, except these are shorter and have more of a hit on the punch lines. For me at least. I really hope they don’t run out of ideas, like Alex said. But from the content in this one I don’t think they’ll use all their best material first, because while the majority were hilarious, a few weren’t worth even a small laugh.

Liam: Like Alex and Kie mentioned, this anime is really hilarious.  I was cracking up within minutes of watching it.  I like the randomness, and immaturity of the skits. Some aren’t as funny as others…but you’ll be sitting in your seat covering your mouth trying not to crack up or say “Oh god, they’re going to do that?” Whether it uses up all it’s best material first, I doubt it. There are tons of material they can put in there…or they might have some episodes that are skits while others are regular episodes without different skits. I can definitely say, I can’t wait for next weeks episode.

One thought on “First Impressions: Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou

  1. This reminded me of Cromartie High School, but with less randomness and a bit more juvenile humor. Didn’t blow me away, but I thought the bit with the “literary girl” was amusing. I’ll probably try another episode to see how much I like it.

Leave a Reply

