Movie: Fullmetal Alchemist: The Sacred Star of Milos

Fullmetal Alchemist: Milos no Seinaru Hoshi

Mimi: Fullmetal… I might have missed you at your crowded premiere at Otakon, teased by your evil mini poster hanging on my wall for six more months, but I dared to traverse the dark, rainy highway to a one-room theater in the middle of nowhere just to catch you. No, really, the weather was bad. But it was mostly worth it.

Okay, here’s the thing about this movie. My love for FMA is unconditional, so I knew that I would enjoy it, even if it wasn’t a sequel or masterpiece. I simply looked forward to seeing Ed and Al up to their usual antics—you know, how Ed always gets the short end of the stick and goofs around with alchemy. The small group of fans that I sat with made it even better. Some of them cosplayed, sang opening themes, and won prizes, one of which was my mini poster blown up about five times its size. *cowers* We laughed together, squealed over Roy together, and ordered all the ice cream sundaes and pizzas we could eat. Yeah, a theater where they delivered right to your seat. NICE. Talk about a rare and fun experience.

But when you take the Elric brothers and ice cream sundaes away, you’re left with a pretty average feature. It doesn’t add anything new or fresh to the franchise; rather, it just seems like an extended lost episode. The story is about an exiled group of people called Milos that is desperately searching for the Philosopher’s stone in order to escape cruel treatment and regain power; or as Milos would like to call it, the “sacred star.” Been there, done that. Expect a long explanation about the forgettable people/history of Milos, followed by a dangerous tour of its caves.

The only new character I found to be interesting was a fugitive that Ed and Al are sent to capture, mainly because of his alchemy and unclear motives. I think the best feature of FMA has always been its villains, so at least that hasn’t changed. Unfortunately, the old supporting characters hardly appear, which is why we had to squeal over Roy whenever the opportunity came. He doesn’t do anything until the very end, and even still, you don’t hear the sharp snap of his fingers that’s usually accompanied by fierce flames. He’s just sort of…there, waiting to be clued in about what’s happening. Oh, and to help the wounded. A little disappointing, I admit.

Of course, we’re all aware that Bones has a crazy high reputation for animation quality. The action is entertaining, especially towards the end, where there’s plenty of blood and gore to keep the little kids away. However, things get a little sloppy sometimes, like facial proportions…even when they’re just standing still. That didn’t bother me a whole lot, but I certainly didn’t expect there to be such inconsistencies in a film of this caliber.

At my theater, I had the choice to watch it in English or Japanese with subtitles, depending on what day I went. I prefer my anime in Japanese, but FMA is a special case. I just can’t watch it without hearing Vic Mignogna and Travis Willingham. Okay, that’s a small lie, because I saw Brotherhood subtitled, but even that was hard for me to adjust to. The English dub is excellent and still among the best I’ve heard in anime. Maxey Whitehead makes for a cute new Alphonse. :3

By the way, the OST is so good that it gets a whole line to itself.

So the bottom line is this. Don’t set your expectations high for something new or brilliant. It really is just Ed and Al thrown into an average story to brighten it up. Just sit back and enjoy it for the humor, dark action, and music. Watch it with your friends all dressed up. And don’t forget the ice cream sundaes.

Mimi’s Score: 7 Meeps out of 10 (Good)

    

One thought on “Movie: Fullmetal Alchemist: The Sacred Star of Milos

Leave a Reply

