Happy 1000th Post, Meepinganime (Top ten OP’s)

To be honest, when we first started blogging as just Alex and Mimi, we never thought we’d last long. So it’s a rather big surprise to see a thousand posts hit already, and a pretty pleasant one too. 1000 posts later, and our most popular posts are Mimi’s Top Twenty, Digimon Xros Wars Review (Episodes 1-30), Uragiri wa Boku no Namae wo Shitteiru’s review, Pokemon: Best Wishes! Victini and the Black Hero/Victini and the White Hero and Digimon Xros Wars Episode 11. When we started blogging, I don’t think we would have expected those particular posts to be so popular n.n

Anyway, on an idea from Mimi, we decided to do our top ten anime OP’s. I ranked mine in terms of what I think of the song.

Scoring in 10th Place…

Again by YUI, from Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Following up in 9th Place…

Inner Universe by Origa, from Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

Continuing with 8th Place…

Period by Chemistry, from Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood

With a change of pace, 7th Place…

Last Regrets by Key & Ayana, from Kanon 2006

Not changing by much, 6th Place…

Hatenaki Michi (Endless Road) by HIMEKA, from Tegami Bachi

Returning to funky tunes, 5th Place…

Uninstall by Chiaki Ishikawa, from Bokurano

A rather odd choice, 4th Place…

Naraku no Hana by Eiko Shimamiya, from Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni Kai

A song that never fails to move me, 3rd Place…

Toki wo Kizamu Uta by Lia, from Clannad: After Story

Almost finished with 2nd Place…

Hacking to the Gate by Kanako Itou, from Steins;Gate
 

And finally, 1st Place goes to…

secret base ~10 years after version~ by Ai Kayano, Haruka Tomatsu, and Saori Hayami, from Ano Hi Mita Hana No Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai

Mimi: Yeah, you heard Alex. :3 Anyway, here are my favorites. I picked these out for the atmosphere and nostalgia, so expect to see a lot of oldies. One more for extra punch!

11. Higashi no Eden OP

“Falling Down” by Oasis

10. House of Five Leaves OP

“Sign of Love” by immi

9. Birdy the Mighty Decode S2 OP

“kiseki” by NIRGILIS

8. Outlaw Star ED

“Hiru no Tsuki” by Arai Akino

7Wolf’s Rain OP

“Stray” by Steve Conte

6Guin Saga ED

“Saga ~ This is my road” by Kanon

5. Gunslinger Girl OP

“The Light Before We Land” by The Delgados

 4. Higurashi S1 OP

“Higurashi no Naku Koro ni” by Eiko Shimamiya

3. Ergo Proxy OP

“Kiri” by MONORAL

2. Last Exile S1 OP

“Cloud Age Symphony” by Shuntaro Okino

1. Monster OP

“Grain” by Kuniaki Haishima

Some others I like but left out are: OP for Noein, Fruits Basket, Rahxephon, Xam’d, Gundam Seed, FMAB, Fate/Stay Night, Bokurano, Porphy no Nagai Tabi, Jigoku Shoujo ED, and Paranoia Agent ED. Anyway, hope you liked! Feel free to share yours under comments. We’ll watch/listen to them. :3

6 thoughts on “Happy 1000th Post, Meepinganime (Top ten OP’s)

  1. Congrats on the 1000th post! It’s also a nice change to post your favorite OPs. I love those lists of favorites as they give us more of an idea of what you guys like (not to mention that I’ve found great anime I’d never even heard of in your Top 20 lists).

    Anyway, I guess I’ll take the invitation and post my top 10 OPs/EDs as well.

    10. Kizuato (Kara no Kyoukai 3 ED)
    9. Blood Teller (Mirai Nikki ED1)
    8. Innocent Starter (Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha OP)
    7. In My World (Ao no Exorcist OP2)
    6. Again (Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood OP1)
    5. Raison D’Être (Claymore OP)
    4. Fate (Break Blade OP)
    3. Brave Song (Angel Beats ED)
    2. No, Thank You! (K-On!! ED2)
    1. Hacking to the Gate (Steins;Gate OP)

    Other OPs/EDs I love: Parallel Hearts (Pandora Hearts OP); Only My Railgun (Toaru Kagaku no Railgun OP); Disillusion (Fate/Stay Night OP); Resuscitated Hope (Gosick ED); Anata Ga Ita Mori (Fate/Stay Night ED); Hishoku no Sora (Shakugan no Shana OP); Wasurenagusa (Tegami Bachi: Reverse ED); Connect (Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica OP); Paradise Lost (Ga-Rei: Zero OP); Toki Tsukasadoru Juuni no Meiyaku (Steins;Gate ED); anything by Kalafina (xD).

    • Just skimming along your list, but i’m surprised by how many of those singles I own xD I’ve got No, Thank You!, Only My Railgun, Resuscitated Hope, Hishoku no Sora, Wasruenagusa(Came close to making my top ten, actually), Connect, Oki Tsukasadoru and a few Kalafina albums xD

      • Well, that’s nice^^ Sadly, I own nothing of anime music. In fact, I own pretty few anime related stuff – just a couple of manga volumes, two posters and one End of Evamgelion 1.0 DVD. The fact that I have to import everything sucks… I’d love to own some Kalafina albums.

        Wasurenagusa and Disillusion would be my next two in preference, so it was really close to making my top 10 as well^^

    • Oh yeah, “Fate” and “Disillusion” are great! I also liked one of the OP songs from Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha called “Eternal Blaze.” Anyway, thanks for sharing your list too. I’ve got more songs to look up. =D

      *sigh* If my list were extended to top 20, there’d definitely be some Chiaki Ishikawa, Susumu Hirasawa, and Akiko Shikata stuff in there. xD

      • I like Eternal Blaze too, but Innocent Starter takes the spot for me. (I just didn’t really like the third season OPs.) About Disillusion, that’s the only thing in which I find Fate/Stay Night superior to Fate/Zero – the OP song. Well, at least the first one, since I have good expectation for the 2nd OP of Fate/Zero, which will be sung by Kalafina.

        I’m not a fan of Chiaki Ishikawa but I definitely like some things by the later two: “Aria” from the new Berserk movie is simply epic, and I love both Umineko’s OP and Tales of Symphonia’s ED by Akiko.

        • Oh, I totally agree about “Disillusion” being way better than “Oath Sign.” (I remember the second OP song made me cringe xD) The next OP song sounds very promising, though! And yeah, the Berserk movie OST is simply epic. I tried to get Alex into it, but I don’t think he was paying attention or something. *sigh* D: At any rate…can’t wait to see the movie. Feels like I’ve been waiting all my life.

Leave a Reply

