First Impression: Sakamichi no Apollon

Kids on the Slope

It’s about time another decent anime about music came out. Shows/movies like Beck, Nodame Cantabile, and Piano no Mori were great, yet so rare. Judging from the OP, I gather that this is more along the lines of Beck, where a group of guys eventually join together to form a band. The art is beautiful and rather similar to Chihayafuru’s, and the music focuses primarily on jazz. What’s more is that Shinichirō Watanabe (director of Cowboy Bebop) and Yoko Kanno are behind it. Yeah, I can’t help but add this to my blog pile; besides, Ozuma is going to end soon. And it’s…kind of our mission to cover all Noitamina anime. =^_^=

What an amazing anime season this is. Now waiting on Eureka Seven Ao~ x3

6 thoughts on “First Impression: Sakamichi no Apollon

  1. This series is a perfect fit for me. I have been playing piano for about 7 years now, and my highschool was known for its jazz band. Internationally known. Hopefully this is longer than 12 episodes -_-.

    • Wow, that’s awesome. o.o I wish I stuck with piano, but I stopped playing after one year of lessons. Nowadays I just make up my own tunes and hope to make Electronica music someday.

      Indeed, this needs to be looongeeer. D:

      • Yeah, I actually haven’t touched a piano in 3 years or so -_-. Maybe I should soon. Practicing kinda sucked but thinking back it was worth it.

  2. Ooh, that drum scene, THAT drum scene. I love any and all stories related to music, but oooh, I knew this was gonna be the one. I just kinda. I’m just gonna. Go over there and. And. Watch it again.

    Oh, but you watched Beck then, Mimi, and ya liked it?

    • Sure did! I wrote a review for it last year: Beck. It feels kinda weird to read my old stuff, lol. o_o

      And yeah, the animation in that drum scene was amazing. xD

  3. Ok, so the hype was indeed worth it. The characters feel real, the atmosphere was engrossing, and I’m gonna have to mention the already talked about drum scene. Because that was simply awesome.

    Also, reading this post, comments and subsequently your Beck review, I guess I’m gonna try it out, as well as Nodame Cantabile, since the only music anime I’ve ever watched was… K-On.

Leave a Reply

