Sakamichi no Apollon Episode 3

Someday My Prince Will Come

The boys try to confess their feelings, which leads to a bunch of very…awkward…moments. If there’s one emotion that easily affects me from anime characters, it’s embarrassment. For instance, I had to pause the video and cover my mouth when Sentarou struggled to read the lines on his card. That nearly killed me. x_x Anyway, enough of my weirdness. This episode is so focused on love triangles and drama that I was afraid there wasn’t going to be any music scenes. Fortunately towards the end, Kaoru plays a lovely romantic piece for Ritsuko. So sweet~!

Interestingly, Kaoru and Sentarou switch roles as the tough guy and weak guy. Although embarrassing, it’s funny to watch Sentarou become so flustered around that girl. Most of the drama stems from Ritsuko’s feelings for him, as well as a bit of miscommunication. I have to say, I’m so glad that the miscommunication issues were resolved  in the end, with Kaoru flat out confessing his feelings to Ritsuko. Bravo, sir! Bravo! This is how I like to see romance handled–straightforward and not dragging on secrets forever. I do hope that Ritsuko will reciprocate those  feelings. =^_^=  Meanwhile, Sentarou and the pretty girl are getting on pretty fast, eh? o.O Hope we get more story on her than just the date of her birthday, though.

So far, the jazz music mainly serves to give the show atmosphere and bond the characters, rather than dominating it like I thought it would. It’s just something they do in their spare time. Maybe that’s bound to change now that all the characters are together.

2 thoughts on “Sakamichi no Apollon Episode 3

  1. I don’t blame the “pretty girl” (I don’t remember her name either), as Sentaro really is the perfect model for a painting xD

    Anyway, I really enjoyed the episode but I was getting wary about the misunderstandings. Except they cleared that out in one episode. Thankfully! Also, I’d never laughed so much while watching anime. Even most comedies rarely manage to get any more than a smile from me, and rolling in the sofa holding my belly and trying to stop laughing is something unprecedented. But that invitation scene… xP It was simply hilarious how Sentaro wasn’t even trying to conceal the paper xD

    I also thought the jazz would be the centerpiece of the series but it hasn’t been like that. Not that I’m complaining, but I do wonder will have a more preponderant role in the remaining episodes.

Leave a Reply

