The Legend of Korra Episode 5

The Spirit of Competition

Woah, back up… Did Korra just say to Mako: “I really like you and I think we were meant for each other” AND kiss him on the lips? *blink blink* I’m stunned. Truly I am. I thought she’d deny her feelings much longer, saving her confession for the very end. But no, Korra just goes for it…at episode five. It’s nice to see another show airing this season to break that cliche, whilst making fun of other ones! Seriously, she caught me off guard pretty good. At the end of the day, they all learn to deal with their feelings in more mature ways. Awesome! But let’s not forget Bolin’s heartbroken reaction… He is one hilarious dude.

I loved their battles in the arena. It was entertaining to see how their attitudes affected the way they played. For instance, Bolin saves the second match in a one-on-one fashion when Korra and Mako are at odds, then Korra saves the final match against all three opponents when Bolin is too heartbroken to play well. I thought they just had to win, especially after that arrogant new challenger appeared, and they indeed manage to narrowly pull it off. The animation doesn’t dwindle one bit! I’m looking forward to their next big match. Gotta take a break from Amon sometimes while he’s happily plotting away somewhere. :3

I’m not really sure how I feel about the new girl Mako is dating. Sure, she was used for the love triangle, but that’s been settled for the moment. There must be something else planned for her, perhaps something that’ll turn Mako off. It just can’t be this good, can it? xD

Well, I am loving The Legend of Korra more and more. It has given me a reason to get up on Saturday mornings and turn on the TV to Nickelodeon, just like old times. :3

4 thoughts on “The Legend of Korra Episode 5

  1. I’m liking the way the series is handling “modern” bending and traditional bending. They’re definitely taking inspiration from modern mixed martial arts.

    Also, is it just me, or do the pro benders seem weak in comparison to the top benders from the first series? Most of the top benders from the first series could probably easily solo entire pro bending teams.

    • I think a lot of it comes from the fact that, pro bending is just that. A sport. Sure they train hard at it, and are great at what they do. Which is, throwing disks, using tiny streams of water, and… using smaller flames, I don’t even know with the Fire Benders. But they’re not rock wall making tidal wave creating fighting machines anymore (thank god for republic city), they’re athletes. I’m pretty sure old style benders would take a while to adapt to pro bending.

      That, and the country isn’t actually in some silly 100 year strife anymore, and most people have lives outside of bending. The world is modernizing, and bending is just adapting to the new city lifestyle, it’s a lot more compact than it used to be. Actually, if you go back and see how Aang was taught Earthbending, and then check back with what Bolin told Korra, theeeeere’s a pretty big contrast.

  2. Seeing at how much you seem to be enjoying this, I’m thinking of starting to watch it. Not sure if I should watch the first series first, though…

Leave a Reply

