Review: Kokoro Connect

Kokoro Connect

Aahh… So now it’s my turn, eh? Well, despite all the drama that happened in the midst of this airing, I’ll try to leave that out of this. I want to rate this show on its own merits rather than the douchebags behind it.

Kokoro Connect seems typical at first, and it kind of is. Basically it’s highschool drama with twists that force more highschool drama. It doesn’t sound too interesting, does it? Well, fortunately I was pleasantly surprised when I breezed through the first 5 episodes in one sitting. The setting was boring, but the dialogue was gripping, the situations felt real(despite them being “forced” upon the cast) and the characters had some depth to them.

It features 5 main characters, which really are the only ones who get a considerable amount of screen time. Taichi Yaegashi, the person who stops at nothing to help people, appears to be the main character since most of the episodes are centered around him. That leaves the supporting cast: Himeko Inaba, Iori Nagase, Yoshifumi Aoki and Yui Kiriyama. I was pleasantly surprised to see that all of the characters got their own times to shine. Unfortunately, not all of these moments had exciting conclusions. I kept hoping and hoping that the series would live up the excitement of the first arc, but it never did. That’s not to say that the rest of the series was bad… I just felt like it was missing something.

Some of my favourite moments of the show were when Inaba and Taichi interacted with each other. Out of everyone in the series, they had by far the best chemistry. I’m not quite sure why, but I’m guessing it’s because Inaba was so damn cute. “Heartseed” was also another character, but not much is known about him. He’s apparently the person who is behind all of the mysterious acts such as body swapping in the show.

The sound track and voice acting were all pretty standard, though the soundtrack stood out to me at the suspenseful moments. The OP’s and ED’s were pretty standard for this kind of show aswell. They don’t bring its rating up but they certainly don’t bring it down.

Each arc features a new “twist” that will spin the casts lives upside down. However, every arc except for the first ended up not utilizing these twists to their full advantage. I would have preferred them to just stick to body swapping, but we can’t have everything.

Other than what I’ve stated here, the show was pretty okay for most of it. My heart was pounding during the 5th episode, and it showed me it was capable of great things. Sadly it never reached that greatness again and I couldn’t help but feel this could have been a masterpiece.

Justin’s Score: 7 Meeps out of 10 (Good)

Alex’s Score: 7 Meeps out of 10 (Good)

Leave a Reply

