First Impressions: Little Busters!

Little Busters

When Naoe Riki was upset and depressed as a kid, following the death of his parents, he got caught up in the activities of a group of people called the Little Busters, and they cheered him up and showed him that there was still fun times ahead of him. Just like that, the group of unlikely friends are still together nowadays, with them all in high school. By premises, it’s nothing special…I mean, I like the childhood thing, but that’s nothing special by today’s standards, heck, it’s not a remarkable scenario or setting or anything, a group of friends living together and having fun together. To make up for it, there’s  pretty nice chemistry between the bunch of them; there’s the straightman, the comedic one, the violent one, the tsundere female and the silent one.

I’m a fan of Key’s works and the like, but I have to admit that Little Busters never interested me. Clannad After nailed the growing up thing, and it never seemed to me like this show has anything special. I’m looking forward to the rest of it, but that’s not to say that I expect something groundbreaking or gravity defying. I haven’t read the source material so I don’t know what to expect, but to judge from the opening episode, this looks to be bottom of the barrel Key; like Kanon and Kanon 2006 was.

Leave a Reply

