Sukitte Ii na yo Episode 5 & 6

Just Like This

Why

I absolutely adored episode five where Mei goes to Yamato’s house and befriends his sister. It’s just heart-warming to see Mei reach out to someone struggling through the same loneliness. And I’m totally jealous of the girl’s room. She has more plushies than me! *pout*

As for the latest episode, it finally gets to the drama I’ve been waiting for. I…probably should have seen this coming from a mile away since the characters have been praising Yamato for his “good looks” and urging him to become a model. Mei’s real adversary is *surprise* a model superstar! Now I admit, the drama is really forced here. She immediately becomes infatuated by Yamato and steals time away from Mei in the worst way possible—a “pretend date” photo shoot. It doesn’t help that his friends squeal about how great they look as a couple right in front of her. What a smack in the face…

But unlike Aiko, whom I thought was going to be the main challenger, the superstar has a likable personality. Bubbly, cute, sweet, outgoing. She’s still intrusive, but more-so because of her culture rather than wickedness. I can see Yamato being tempted by her, or at least, get taken advantage of because he’s too nice. Even though the scenario is a little extreme/forced, she presents the greatest conflict so far, which translates to excitement for me. Please don’t get me wrong, though. I’m on Mei’s side! It better happen that she overcomes the obstacles and stands up for her relationship before the series is over. ^_^

By the way, this is the first time that I found Yamato to be slightly attractive. He should keep those glasses on.

Leave a Reply

