Hotarubi no Mori e

This…this movie is amazing. I absolutely loved it. It’s short, sadly. I wish it was a little longer. Gin and Hotaru are the main characters here. Gin is a youkai, but not really. He’s more of a soul, inside of a glass shell of a human that’s shattered easily. So human touch will have him disappear. The poor guy has a upsetting back story. He was abandoned by his family in a this forest. The local youkai took him in as their own, and the god of the mountain granted him eternal life, but that life will end shortly if he’s touched by a human. We watch Hotaru grow up, slowly with Gin. She realizes that he doesn’t age, or hardly does. So she started to worry that one day she’ll grow older than him, which was true. But she also started to realize her feelings for Gin. Growing up with him for so many years, I guess you’re bound to get feelings for someone.

Hotaru slowly ages while she spends the summers with Gin. They play, and have fun in the forest while she’s with him. She does a lot of stupid stuff, like trying to grab him, and he constantly has to whack her with a stick. But soon enough she learns her lesson~ The youkai that live in the forest love Gin like a son, I guess. They’re very stern about Hotaru touching him. The one threatened to eat her. xD

The movie is short. It’s only 30 minutes. So basically it’s just like an anime, with commercial time. That’s the only down side to it. It got a lot done in 30 minutes, but I really wish it was longer. They could have done so much more with this movie. I know why they cut it off there, but it could have had more to it. It was fantastic though. It had my bawling. In 30 minutes I fell in love with these characters. (Maybe just Gin. Hah.) This is definitely a movie I’d enjoy watching over and over. It’s so heartwarming, and just love ❤ I remember when it first came out, and I don’t know when it got subbed. I do know I waited a year or so, and here I am watching it. I’m so glad I did. This is just a fantastic movie every person should watch. It’s heart warming, and amazing and just every complimentary word out there. If I remember correctly, the people who animated Natsume also did this, and I absolutely loved Natsume. So that’s a double plus in my book. The art was wonderful, and everything was wonderful. Except for how short it was. Even if it was short, I’ll give it a 10.

2 thoughts on “Hotarubi no Mori e

  1. Your post, Hotarubi no Mori e, is really well written and insightful. Glad I found your website, warm regards from Phil!

  2. Good day I am so excited I found your web site, I really
    found you by accident, while I was looking on Yahoo for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say kudos for
    a marvelous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to look over it all at the minute but I
    have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read much more, Please do keep up the superb work.

Leave a Reply

