Maoyuu Maou Yuusha Episodes 3-7

MMY 7

I apologize for the delay on these posts. I should have episode 8 up by tomorrow. As far as MMY, I can’t really decide if I like it or not. You can get a good idea of my opinion by my tags I guess. It has been pretty inconsistent. I’m struggling to talk about everything chronologically, so I’ll be putting down some random thoughts about the show overall. This will also be a little short for 4 episodes.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned on how not to make a movie, it’s to not make them about trading routes. I want to get this out of the way first. The Phantom Menace, probably one of the biggest disappointments in movie history, was particularly guilty of this. Why am I supposed to care about them? It’s possibly the most dull thing I can think of when it comes to a plot… The only thing worse would be making it about taxes

One of the weirdest things I’ve ever seen happen in anime was the seemingly random shounen style fight against that giant walrus. It’s the first bit of action we have gotten, but I was pretty disappointed with it overall. It just seemed so out of place to put that kind of fight in the series, especially with the mood and tone of it so far. Where was the strategy? Have I listened to a busty demon talk about the importance of potatoes all this time for nothing? Come on, I was  expecting Zodd the Immortal when the knight was going to fight him… All we got was the shounen walrus that got beaten by a 120 girl. WTF

The demons themselves don’t really seem like demons at all. Flying sharks? Really? I was cracking up the entire time watching those things. In the battles there’s barely any strategy. We do hear the importance of trading routes… Oh wait.. I’ve mentioned that. But really, it DOES open them up! My point is, if you’re going to be talking about stuff like that before and after the battles, you should at least attempt to make those battles have some strategy as well.

On the other hand, the little harem they have going on is surprisingly enjoyable. I do find myself giggling like an idiot to see those two girls fighting over the hero. It’s a little obvious he’ll end up with the demon queen, though I honestly prefer the knight myself… Maybe it has something to do with the hero working his water pump to get her wet… What was I saying again?

In the earlier episodes we really didn’t get a whole lot. The hero wasn’t around much. He took the identity of ‘black knight’ during his absence… Apparently he was some bad ass who saved the world from us evil humans. Too bad we barely got to see anything. The show has a case of ‘show don’t tell’ almost as bad as Game of Thrones(except the latter was actually good). Maybe it’s just having a low budget. The show at least knows how to use its budget well if that’s the case.

MMY is progressively getting better, as I was almost losing my patience for it. I apologize for this being a little short for 4 episodes again but I do want to get back to blogging it weekly!

Leave a Reply

