First Impressions: Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S

Episode 01

-Electromagnetic (Railgun)-

The thing I love about this show is that even when it isn’t providing, Kuroko’s voice will keep me coming back.

Going to start by saying this isn’t my favourite show. Season one was very much a drag for me. It provided very little for me to find interest in, and the fillers didn’t help. Bland would be a compliment. That doesn’t stop S2 from stepping up, of course. While I can’t make that judgement (yes I know, hilarious) yet, this was a pretty nice introduction episode. I managed to watch the entire episode without checking how much longer was left; you know that’s promising. It starts off with what you know is going to end up with Misaka blowing up the bad guys completely, and of course she doesn’t let us down. Any memory of Saten being annoying seem to be distant as well. Although that was probably because of the trouble she caused beforehand.

But hey, this is an anime. When one annoyance disappears, another makes it way in, and it makes sure everyone knows it’s here. Shokuhou Misaki – that’s Misaki, not Misaka for scan readers. She’s your usual pompous, pretentious, arrogant & conceited kiss my feet princess. Except she’s not actually any sort of royalty, and seems to have some self-proclaimed title of queen which she’s clearly mind controlled these gullible kids into following. She’s not in it for long (for now), but we get to see them all in action at least. Misaka and, partially Kuroko, save the day with an over the top yet beautiful execution. All with a shounen feel as the thieves realise just who they stole from. I feel like this is pretty promising right now, so long as the fillers (we all know there’s going to be a ton) keep to high standards. As for the actual plot, I have no doubt there’ll be some shocking twists. Ahahahaha.

To be quite honest, I don’t have anything to say which Kryn didn’t. It’s full of pretty action, and it’s delivered in that manner which the original was really well loved for. You know, that “I don’t even care that this is filler material and filler material is the soul of the devil, this is entertaining!”

3 thoughts on “First Impressions: Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S

  1. Was the typo intentional Kryn?
    Also, I really like Misaki, though that goes way beyond her introductory scene, of course. Bah, how I regret not blogging this season.

Leave a Reply

