Shingeki no Kyojin Episodes 3-7

A Dim Light in the Darkness of Despair: Mankind’s Comeback, Part 1

Night of the Graduation Ceremony: Mankind’s Comeback, Part 2

First Battle: Battle of Trost District, Part 1

The World She Saw: Battle of Trost District, Part 2

The Tiny Blade: Battle of Trost District, Part 3

AoT3-7

Justin (1)As someone who has recently read the manga, the first 7 episodes of AoT made me wish I hadn’t. It’s that good.

Sometimes you can get lost in the spectacle, but AoT offers something that hasn’t graced anime for a long time. The pacing is lightning fast, but never loses you in its story telling. Each episode offers a new perspective of hopelessness but also a glimmer or hope for mankind.

With a combination of the animation, music and story telling, AoT isn’t something that you should miss this season. If I hadn’t already read the manga and knew what was going to happen, I may be tearing my hair out at the end of each episode. Thanks to Doofus and Dusk for making me read it, by the way(not really, I read it on my own…).

I really like what it did in regards to the pacing of the story. The third and fourth episode features Eren, Armin and Mikasa training to be soldiers to fight against the titans.  It’s here we meet the rest of the cast and it’s here we catch glimpses of what’s to come. There are a few standouts along with some that will take time to develop, but the first thing I thought when I saw the size of the cast was a lot of people were going to die.

In the manga, the training camp didn’t actually happen until the 15th chapter or so. I guess they wanted to get right into the action, but I admit it certainly betrayed the flow of the series. There was no slowing down and little time for the characters to develop. The development and back story didn’t come until later in the series when it actually showed the training camp in the manga. I thought it was a great move to put them right now as it certainly gave a better introduction to the characters. I can look at everyone in the anime and know who they are, but I couldn’t say I was able to do that in the early chapters of the manga.

I have to say this consistency is so far working better for the anime than the “action first” route the manga took. It is something that I feel it suffered through most of it, though I still enjoyed the hell out of it.

This is all contrasted by the excellent action scenes. The manga doesn’t have the best art, and it’s hard to show how exhilarating flying through the air fighting giant monsters is. They do look creepy, but the anime, coupled with the music, just knocks it out of the park. I get goosebumps no matter how many times I watch it. And can’t wait to see how they’ll adapt the rest, though I totally regret spoiling myself on everything!

I’m glad with how they adapted the Mikasa back story and how they handled the scenes. It was probably even more chilling than the manga, despite it being less gruesome. One thing I didn’t notice was Mikasa breaking the floor when she killed the person choking Eren. What significance does this have? Was it simple physics she was able to do that or does it foreshadow something else?

Now, I kept this rather short. It was four episodes but I don’t care all that much. The last episode ended with a rogue-like titan going crazy and attacking his own kind. The way is was animated reminded me a lot of berserker EVA, but I wonder who it could be? Huehuehue.

Doofus is expected to be back to covering this.

Leave a Reply

