Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaete mo Omaera ga Warui! First Impressions

Since I’m Not Popular, I’ll Change My Image a Bit

watamote

Justin (1)

Dat OP.

Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaete mo Omaera ga Warui!, or more commonly known as ‘Watamote’ is a show about the most pathetic girl you can think of. Recently I decided to read the manga before this aired, and holy god, the cringe was glorious. It features a girl name Tomoko Kuroki and her never ending quest to be popular or find a boyfriend.

First I just want to comment on the OP, even though I kind of already did. It’s probably the best this season seeing as AoT will soon be changing theirs. I almost regret not watching the live stream just to see peoples reactions to it. I’m guessing a good number of people haven’t read the manga and had no idea what to expect, so hearing something as crazy as this was probably a nice surprise.

The voice actress for Kuroki manages to portray her almost just as I imagined. The inner monologues sound crazy but awfully hopeful, and her attempts to talk to people are pretty hilarious. In a way it’s almost kind of cute. Almost. Her brother is also pretty spot on in regards to how I imagined. Not only do you get the kind of “older brother hates his sister” kind of vibe from him, but he also at least cares for her a bit… Just a little.

Not to mention the animation studio is doing a pretty stellar job with her facial reactions, even if I’m not a fan of her constantly having bags under her eyes… Or whatever those are. At least she has the stupidity of the duck face down. And yes, if you’re a girl and make that face, that’s how ridiculous you look – it’s even worse if you’re a boy and do it. Please stop.

Aside from the cringe, Watamote is managing to put in some references to other anime/manga and then some. The most obvious one this episode was the Death Note scene where she was moving the mouse like Light Yagami moved his pen(only in the most epic fashion). I don’t think it was original manga material, so it’s good to see the animators having a little fun if it’s not. My personal favourite in the manga was “Kuroki’s Basketball”, hehehe.

I don’t want to make this post into a review, but the last thing I’ll say is that it has a similar style of humour to Welcome to the NHK. It’s pretty hilarious to watch but only because it’s dark humour I couldn’t laugh at every scene. The last scene where her brothers friends call her ugly was pretty sad. Nothing sucks more than random people calling you ugly when you at least make a half decent effort to not look like crap.

More blog posts “coming”!

 

 

Leave a Reply

