First Impressions: Rozen Maiden (2013)

Rozen Maiden 2013

rozen

AlexYeah, I watched the original, and i’ll be the first to admit I have no clue what happened here. I think it was a recap, and I was able to roughly follow it (regardless of the terrible pacing…I have no idea how much content was here, but it was at least 6 times too much) until it got to that bit at the end, which is where I think it breaks off?

The art and OST were pretty top quality stuff, and considering that i’ve seen the previous instalments to this, it makes sense to follow it…the big issue is going to be if I can actually follow and understand what’s going on, or if i’m just going to get blown away with the very rapidly moving plotline. We had Suiseiseki and her plotline with the twins fighting in around ten minutes, for crying out line. Then there was the little baby and her being eaten up by the one without a body, which I don’t really remember happening, then the annoying one with the umbrella, whom I sadly remember all too well.

If I were to release a first episode to an anime, I wouldn’t do this. It’s confusing and actually boggles the mind to think about.

I’m just going to leave a quick update here, and that’s that it turns much better in the second episode. Kinda odd that way…but it stops being a recap and goes into new territory.

Leave a Reply

