Some Thoughts – Phi Brain: Kami No Puzzle 3 Episodes 1 and 2

AlexWell, since there’s just so much out this season that I want to watch, i’m going to talk about it like this, where I cover groups of episodes at the same time when I can find the time to watch them all. It’s not the best format to do this in, but considering i’m largely on my own now, this is the easiest way for me to manage. Sorry if you don’t like it… ^^

Ratsel… & You Know Nothing

stphibrain1

Well, here’s the show which nobody thought would get a third season. I gotta be honest here, and say that regardless of how much I like this show, I don’t think there’s any point in a third season if it’s not going to do something new. The second series pretty much sorted everything out…in my opinion.

I mean, things may start slightly differently – Rook appears to have become a member of the group, the puzzle feels different and is much more mystical and like the first season’s puzzles, and Kaito’s on his own with Jin, his mentor who lost all his memories in season 1. It appears to be focusing on recovering Jin’s memories, and along with them, we get to see just how much Freecell changed after being saved. It honestly all feels a little like an OVA or a bonus episode, rather than a whole new season.

Everything seems to revolve around Jin this time around, which is a relatively interesting take on things. I mean, they did need to do something (not many series get so many episodes), but apart from making some basic changes which needed to be made in the first place (actually including Nonoha as part of the puzzle solvers, for example), it seems to be sticking to the formula that they’ve set out for themselves. I just hope that they don’t do anything like Season 2 did with the mind control stuff…but only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

