Some Thoughts – Samurai Flamenco Episode 1

Debut of Samurai Flamenco!

samuraiflamenco-ep1

Diableos It’s not too often that shows get me with just the title, but this one managed it, and I can say that I’m glad it did. It makes me feel like a big kid, and that’s just grand.

I personally find this show to have a fairly weird concept. Not a bad one by any means, but it’s somewhat child-like yet serious at the same time. It’s strangely charming and enthralling, and I already feel as though I’m growing attached to the characters from this very first episode. Don’t be thrown off by the child-like nature of the superhero aspect of this show, though. I doubt I could recommend this to any children. It seems like it’s taking a mature, yet light-hearted approach and one can only hope it stays that way. Hazama is passionate about his dreams and it brings me back to many years ago when I loved superheroes when I was younger, and I feel like that’s what they’re aiming for here. I would definitely say Samurai Flamenco targets the people who would enjoy seeing this kind of light-hearted story, whilst reminiscing about times from their childhood.

With that being said, it is worth mentioning that a couple of scenes in this episode seemed very ridiculous, thanks to Hazama, but perhaps that’s just me and maybe I should have expected it. I wouldn’t necessarily say it was a bad type of ridiculous, but it makes me think that some scenes in future episodes could be unnecessarily over the top, or just underwhelming. There was very little action this episode, but that’s to be expected from the first one of the series. Towards the end of the episode, you get a good feel for where this show may be heading, and if they sprinkle in a little more action, I think I’m going to thoroughly enjoy this from start to finish.

Hazama and Gotou are the only two characters that are really introduced in this first episode, and they already seem to have great chemistry. As I said above, I’m already growing attached to them because of how well they mesh together. I can sense that these two will have plenty of silly antics for us to enjoy, and it very much hearkens back to the child-like aspect I mentioned. I’m hopeful that it won’t get tiring, and that new characters will also impress and entertain me.

If you ever wished you could have been a superhero when you were a kid, you may well want to give this show a look. Even if you didn’t, I have a feeling this show is going to make you wish you were one eventually. I already feel like something of a hero. I love it, and I have a strange craving for curry now.

Leave a Reply

