Some Thoughts – Samurai Flamenco Episode 7

Change the World

samuraiflamenco-ep7

DiableosWow. I said last time how this show is ramping up a little with every episode. This episode is no exception, but then it decided to spike up out of nowhere. Just… what? I still can’t even believe what happened actually happened. All of my what. I was not ready for this at all.

This episode was very good, that’s for sure, and it was also very interesting! Up to and including the surprising moment towards the end. That big moment is when a man transforms into a giant guillotine gorilla in front of Hazama and Gotou, and kills the police officers in the room. It happens during a drug bust after the police had made Hazama chief for the day as part of a PR stunt. I don’t even understand how it happened or why. I wasn’t expecting it, and I highly doubt anyone else was. After the gorilla disappears, another entity appears and speaks to Hazama briefly before disappearing itself. I’m now very intrigued and I just don’t know what to expect anymore. I wouldn’t say this is a bad turn of events. I did want more action and villains, but this must be a dream sequence or something. Part of me really hopes so. I wanted cheesy villains and giant robots like in the opening, not creepy entities and giant, guillotine gorillas.

While the last part of the episode was pretty crazy, the rest of it was fairly tame. Crime is down, and Samurai Flamenco’s popularity is up. Hazama is able to focus more on his job and it’s pleasing his manager. It was weird to see her so happy. Akira Konno, the man who has tried to reveal Samurai Flamenco’s identity, has even grown bored of the situation. It makes me wonder what he’s going to do next. Frankly I’m more concerned about what happened at the end of the episode, but I suspect he’ll get a bigger role down the line. Harazuka actually put an end to my suspicions about him, considering he seems like an enthusiastic superhero fan just like Hazama, although now I really hope he creates some better gadgets for him to use. Unfortunately though, the sunshine and rainbows didn’t last long for Hazama. He discovered the truth about the loss of his parents, and that his grandfather had lied about it the entire time. Thankfully he doesn’t want revenge on his parents’ murderer, although the truth along with the fact his grandfather had lied has left Hazama questioning himself. Luckily Gotou was there to help him out, but I don’t know if Hazama is back to his passionate self again just yet. He was fairly gloomy after he found out, but it was nice to see that he is still happy to help those in need regardless.

Hopefully Hazama will stay strong and be back to his full potential in the next episode, and perhaps we’ll be given some clarification on what happened. I’m still fairly shocked. I’m fine with the show being cheesy, not so much with it being absurd though. As I said, I do want more action and more villains, but this isn’t what I had in mind. The previous six episodes didn’t hint towards anything like this, so maybe it wasn’t real. Whether it was real or not, it was a very nice episode. It was entertaining and the episode left a pretty good cliffhanger! I still hope it wasn’t real, and instead it’s something to push Hazama into improving his skills or something. We’ll find out in the next episode. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

