Some Thoughts – Samurai Flamenco Episode 12

Document! We are the Flamengers!!

samuraiflamenco-ep12

Diableos So we’ve had a few weeks to rest for the holidays, and now we’re back! With a new OP to kick things off as well. I have to say I quite like the new song, though admittedly I do prefer the first OP song ‘Just One Life’, but this new one isn’t bad at all. It did actually hype me up a little for the episode, but I don’t necessarily think it deserved the hype.

Now by no means was this a bad episode. It was just rather bland. I feel like it would have been better to start the second half of the series with episode eleven. It certainly had a bigger impact than this one. This episode was more of a place to show what kind of people the Flamengers are. The short answer to that is also bland. Of course Hazama is still a great character, but all the others are just generic and dull. I like Flamen Black, but everyone likes the Black Ranger. He’s always the cool one, though that doesn’t change the fact he is just as plain as the others. Another problem is even though they’re a team, they don’t seem to want anything to do with each other when they’re not in their suits, and even when they are, they’ve all got clashing opinions and Hazama can’t seem to keep them in line. Granted, that did change over the course of the episode, and the rest of the Flamengers are warming up to Hazama and starting to respect him. I certainly wouldn’t turn down his invitation to eat curry rice. Nor would I turn down his invitation to join the team as Flamen Yellow. Oh, Gotou, what are you thinking? You let Maya hide away in your apartment and then you turn down that offer. I suppose the former is much worse though, and I have to bet that Maya may well become Flamen Yellow. Her Flamenco Diamond outfit was yellow, she doesn’t really know what she’s doing now, and I believe that the Yellow and Pink Rangers were usually the women on the team. Perhaps this could be the opportunity for Maya to redeem herself!

Speaking of the characters from the first half of the show, I wish they would truly return. I’m not torn over the fact Maya isn’t as important as she was before, but I want the old group together again from when Hazama was still… well, Samurai Flamenco. I could learn to enjoy the show for what it is now, but it’s just not really doing it for me. I even have to say that the new monsters the Flamengers are fighting are worse than the ones working for King Torture. The earlier ones weren’t amazing by any stretch of the imagination, but King Torture intrigued me at least. Although, I did get a laugh out of them in this episode. It was so stupid. Even the Flamengers’ giant robot looked ridiculous once it obtained some “deluxe parts”. I suppose one thing this show does well is stupidity, and it’s strangely charming. Even though I’m not the biggest fan of where this is going, I am going to stick with it because I’m still hopeful. Regardless of the fact the show is trying to knock it right out of me. It still gives me a nice surprise with some segments, like the part where it was showing the Flamengers being interviewed. It was a really nice touch… it’s just a shame the Flamengers are fairly boring themselves. It does make me wonder if it is all a dream sequence or a television show. I wouldn’t be too surprised if it is. I’ve suspected it since episode seven, but it’d be a slap in the face at this point.

There’s not much else to say about this episode. As I said, it wasn’t exactly bad, but it wasn’t great either. One thing that did disappoint me was the new OP video itself. It was mainly composed of snippets from earlier episodes in the series. With any luck, it was only that way because they didn’t finish it in time, and perhaps episode thirteen will have the real deal. I’m not going to keep my hopes up for that though. The song is just fine, and what’s more important is the Flamengers becoming likeable. Not only that, I wish the monsters were a little more threatening, or to just have another character like King Torture. He was pretty good at what he did and he lived up to his name. Maybe one of the new 64 monsters will be menacing… maybe.

Leave a Reply

