Some Thoughts – Samurai Flamenco Episode 20

Boy From the Past

samuraiflamenco-ep20

Diableos Yes, this is what I wanted to see! Another entertaining episode. It wasn’t full of aliens, monsters or total nonsense, but it was full of excitement. I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire episode and I cannot wait to see more!

I especially can’t wait to see more of Haiji Sawada, the kid that appeared at the end of the previous episode and caused the explosion. It turns out that he’s… basically insane. He’s completely lost it and became obsessed with Hazama after Haiji met him in the very first episode. He wants to appear special in Hazama’s eyes and has effectively become evil just for that. He constantly mentions how hard he has worked for Hazama and it’s creepy. Haiji must have spent an incredibly long time planning everything and it is difficult to believe someone so young could perform these tasks. He supposedly died a year ago of an illness, yet the illness was unknown. I think he faked his death and began planning, waiting for the perfect time to strike, and he timed it exquisitely. What makes it really interesting is how nobody except Hazama has seen him. Haiji’s parents moved away after his supposed death, his classmates haven’t heard from him either, and no one seems to believe Haiji is the one responsible. It’s making Hazama look crazy and his friends believe it’s his imagination playing tricks on him due to stress. I don’t buy that. I don’t want to find out Haiji is an illusion. I want the real deal, and I’m positive that he is! Even though he’s the mastermind behind the events that unfold in this episode, that doesn’t mean he’s working alone. It’s entirely possible that other people are helping Haiji achieve his goals.

Haiji was targeting the Flamengers, Harazuka, and even Joji too, all in an attempt to get to Hazama. It isn’t possible for Haiji himself to show up in multiple places at once, that much is for sure, but you can’t directly see Haiji during those scenes, except for the one with Flamen Pink. This makes me believe that he is real, yet he seems to disappear and reappear at will. Is he actually causing these events to happen, or is he somehow predicting them? I want to believe that he is real, even if it means he’s utilizing some advanced technology or in fact isn’t even human! What gets me the most is how he knew Hazama and Gotou had a fight. What’s even worse than that is the fact they fought! I never expected them to fight like that. I do agree with Gotou that Hazama could have worded things differently, although it is an awkward situation. Neither of them believes what the other says and that needs to change. I’m hoping that they will both apologise and make up, yet I have a feeling the last episodes will involve Hazama’s downward spiral.

With that being said, I’m starting to consider the possibility that Hazama may wake up and realize that everything since the start of the show has been a dream, a TV show, or part of a story. I also think it’s possible the show may not have a happy ending, at least for Hazama. Perhaps it is building up to Hazama confronting his own evils, that the price of peace is Hazama’s sanity and maybe even his life. I doubt that will be the case and I honestly hope it isn’t. I just can’t help but think it would be rather lame if Haiji wasn’t real. I’d really like to see Hazama prevail and defeat Haiji, even if it’s not the happiest ending in the world, I feel that would be a satisfying conclusion.

Leave a Reply

