First Impressions: Mushishi Zoku Shou

It’s hard to believe that nine years have passed since the first anime adaptation of Mushishi…

I was sixteen then and still new to watching anime online…probably drooling over Gundam Seed characters. I’m not even sure when I first saw it. All I know is that Mushishi has had a special place in my heart ever since. It’s one of the few episodic, supernatural anime shows that manages to relax and captivate me at the same time. I’m also a fan of Kino’s Journey and Natsume’s Book of Friends, but Mushishi is the best in this genre for me.

Two years ago, I had the pleasure of meeting Mushishi’s director, Hiroshi Nagahama, at an anime convention. It was the most up close and personal panel I’ve ever been to, as the fans formed into a small group circle around him. If you’ve ever connected with someone who worked on your favorite anime, then I don’t have to explain how special that feels. The more he talked about Mushishi, the more I loved it. Just learning about how it had influenced him as an anime director and human being gave me a whole new level of appreciation for it. I had quickly forgiven him for not leaking any details about season two… After all, he liked my panda hat.

As promised, though, season two is finally here! Honestly? It’s just as beautiful, atmospheric, profound, and slow-paced as I remember. Ginko is still laid back, serious, and inadvertently amusing at times. This episode could very well have been a long lost episode from the middle of season one. Newcomers should also be able to enjoy it, as it introduces the world of Mushi all over again. The OP song is really something to remember too. We need more anime OP songs like that one.

It’s safe to say that I will work my way back into anime blogging, starting with Mushishi. I was absent for over a year and left some anime hanging (my apologies for that), so my writing is a little rusty. I just want to have fun and be a part of the group again. ^_^

One thought on “First Impressions: Mushishi Zoku Shou

Leave a Reply

