First Impressions: No Game No Life

Beginner


So beautiful. Sign me up for this world, please? No Game; No Life was quickly placed into my top 3 to watch this spring purely because of its art style. I’m a sucker for it. I’m browsing previews, and before I actually read about any of them, I choose based on art. It rarely fails me. In this case, it definitely hasn’t.

ngnl

So far we’ve seen the protagonists, Sora & Shiro, play 4 characters at the same time in a game and beat 1,200 other players with them. Players that were cheating. It quickly changes from just a game to some sort of supernatural fantasy as their room disjoints leaving them falling to a different world. Bought there by none other than the worlds “God” because they’re good at games. In this world, everything is decided by games. Pretty damn cool. Some may think that this episode was a bit rushed. As I haven’t read the LN, I don’t have a clue how far in we are, or if anything has been missed. What I do know, is that I’m liking how much I’ve seen. Sometimes it takes several episodes for an anime to “kick off”, but I feel like we’re already at an action filled point with this.

Sora is surprisingly likeable. In the preview I wasn’t a huge fan of how he looked, and expected something totally different. Looks can be deceiving though, as this guy is pretty nice and not at all the type of guy who hates socializing even though he’s constantly in his room. As for Shiro, she hasn’t really done much yet, but she seems to be the quiet type who’s more of a cute cushion for fans to look at. The “God” character which pulled them into the new world seems interesting. He’s young, and has a very child like voice. I’m assuming this is to reflect on the world built completely around games. He also mentions that he’ll probably see Sora & Shiro again, so I’m betting there’s some sort of higher-up game tournament going on for purely the best.

As far as first episodes go, this wasn’t the best of the season, but it did take more steps than most. It’s a good job it did, too. While seeing two siblings be amazing at games is cool, a whole episode on it wouldn’t make me satisfied. Taking us to the next step in the first episode was crucial in my opinion. The after credits scene with Stephanie seems to be where the fan service really starts. Can you believe people complained? You watch any movie that isn’t aimed solely at kids and you’ll see more service than in any ecchi. Overall, I’m pretty happy. I just hope they don’t go overboard with the pace or I may regret wanting it for this first episode.

Leave a Reply

