Review: Mirai Nikki

The Future Diary

Oh boy. Where do I start here? If you’re going to be offended easily and aren’t into deep, dark things, then you should probably turn back now. Mirai Nikki has some of the sickest, freakiest and plain disgusting characters and events throughout it’s 26 episodes, and it isn’t for the faint hearted.

Mirai Nikki is a survival game, where humans who have some form of future-predicting diary all compete to be a god. As you can guess from that, it’s gritty, it’s dark and it’s got the wimpiest male lead ever, complimented by the most psychotic female lead ever. But you know, I don’t think I should talk about the rest of Mirai Nikki. It’s a thriller, and it’s one of the more easily spoilt ones, so I don’t want to give any hints that might give it away.

Granted, at some times it may feel like it tries too hard, but that’s all part of the mood…and Mirai Nikki sets a great one, making many other  thrillers, horrors or any form of roller-coaster style anime look bad. Sorry that this review is kinda crappy, but I honestly have no idea what to say. I hated the ending (or lack of), yet the finale was so insane it was good, like the rest of the show.

If anything I mentioned interests you, give it a try. You’ll be surprised by how good it actually is.

Mimi: I just wanted to add that the OST is flipping amazing and you should check it out on YT. My favorite song would have to be Sixth Battle (track 1) on vol 4! x3

Alex’s Score: 8.5 Meeps out of Ten (Very Good)

One thought on “Review: Mirai Nikki

  1. That might be a short review but “so insane it was good” already describes this show perfectly^^

    It’s one of those things one might be better off not thinking too much about, though, because it has its fair share of plot holes if you do. But hey, I have to agree that, while I did rage at some parts, it was a highly entertaining roller-coaster and I totally don’t regret having watched it. I also thought the finale was one of the best later episodes, despite the open ending, for its emotional weight was fairly well executed.

Leave a comment